Why I am in Museums

by Brooke Mundy

Most people remember being a kid and taking field trips to a museum: Seeing classic and modern pieces of art, exploring fun science activities, learning how other ancient cultures lived. All of these experiences made me want to work in museums. As a child I enjoyed all different types of museums; Historic Williamsburg, the Smithsonian, and The Metropolitan Museum of Art are three museums which sparked my interest in working with museums. I was fascinated by the different collections and interactions they had to offer about all types of various subjects that I had not known much about until my visit. They opened up a whole new world for me and now, as an adult, I get to work in a museum and continue my curiosity by working hands- on with museum objects.

My love of the museums as a child led me to want to work in museums as an adult. The educational value, hands- on work with unique objects, creating new ideas, and contributing to my community are just a few of the reasons I enjoy working in a museum. Working for the C.H. Nash Museum as their Collections Graduate Assistant, I get to handle objects and work with exhibit projects, as well as many other tasks. However, at the end of the day, the most gratifying part of my job is knowing that I am preserving history and providing the community with a place they can come and utilize for their own interests and needs. The C.H. Nash Museum especially appreciates their community and knows what a vital role the community plays in the success of the museum, and the museum works to let the community know how much we appreciate it by incorporating the community into the museum’s activities and outreach. The museum is always striving to support the community which surrounds it, and that, for me, lets me know that my job serves more than just myself and the institution I work for, which is important in my career values.

I am in museums because it provides me with a feeling of contribution to the community in which I live, and it also allows me to explore my creative side, as well as experience unique objects of our history and current culture. If you remember being young and enjoying museums or still enjoy museums as an adult, come and be a part of the museum. Being a part of a museum family does not necessarily mean you have to be a paid employee. The C.H. Nash Museum has a plethora of volunteers and many interns. If you are someone who has some free time and loves museums and what they provide, consider becoming a volunteer. Another great opportunity working in museums provides is getting to meet new people, which is another reason I am in museums.

These are the many different reasons why I am in a museum. I encourage you to explore your own interests when it comes to museums and hope that you find the same enjoyment and fulfillment that I have found being a part of a museum family.

Brooke Mundy is a Graduate Assistant at the C.H. Nash Museum at Chucalissa.  

About C.H. Nash Museum

The mission of the C.H. Nash Museum at Chucalissa, a division of the University of Memphis, is to protect and interpret the Chucalissa archaeological site’s cultural and natural environments, and to provide the University Community and the Public with exceptional educational, participatory, and research opportunities on the landscape’s past and present Native American and traditional cultures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

